What I read during my lunch break

November 14, 2014 § Leave a comment

The Robber Bridegroom by Eudora Welty accompanied me on my lunch break not too long ago and it was a very quick and fun readEudoraWelty_TheRobberBridegroom. I didn’t do much eating since I had limited time and picked the more important thing to do–read!

Using characters out of history with a mix of Brothers Grimm and even the tale of Cupid and Psyche, Welty created a modern day fairytale. This story is just solid good fun mixed in with tongue-in-cheek humour and a bit of Huck Finn’s Mississippi.

If you can’t get a copy of the physical book, the full text is available through the Internet Archive. Otherwise I’ve checked the book in and it’s available on the 3rd floor shelves at PS3545.E6R6.

While looking around online, I found this: Miss Welty’s Fairytale. This is a review published of the book in 1942. This review is positive, and I agree with the reviewer. I’ve found that Welty’s work is enjoyable now. And this review from our own contemporaries: Curiosity of a Social Misfit.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What I read during my lunch break at Bibliolatry.

meta

